## A.C.T. - N.O.W.

# Advisory Community Team – Neighbors On Watch COMMUNITY MEETING MINUTES JULY 17, 2017 (18th ANNUAL MEETING)

Notes taken by Shannon Fick, Secretary Julie Hill absent (on vacation).

Annual Community Meeting was called to order by Chair Mary Link at 6:54 p.m. with 56 members/guests present.

Mary Link/Sgt. Greg Patchin introduced current ACT NOW Executive Board members and Gerrish Police Officers that were present.

#### **MINUTES**

Motion to approve the minutes from the July 18, 2016 17<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting by Gerald Wall support by Sandie Klein. All in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

### TREASURER'S REPORT

Bob Barber presented the 2016-2017 Fiscal Year End Treasurer's Report. Motion to approve the Treasurer's Report as given by Ginny Trombley, support by Ralph Roland. All in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

#### **CHAIR REPORT**

Mary Link gave a quick re-cap of the year's events and fundraisers. She also thanked everyone for their support of ACT NOW and that all of the community projects and programs that are sponsored by ACT NOW would not happen without the volunteers and support of ACT NOW members.

### ELECTIONS OF OFFICERS

Sgt. Patchin on behalf of Chief Hill (absent), member of the nominating committee opened the 2017-2018 slate of officers with nominations from the floor at 7:00 p.m.

## Chair (Currently Mary Link)

Mary Link was nominated by Gerald Wall, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Mary Link as Chair, support by all, motion carried.

### **Co-Chair** (Currently Carmine Polisei)

Carmine Polisei was nominated by Gerald Wall, support by John Ellis. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Co-Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Carmine Polisei as Co-Chair, support by all, motion carried.

### **Treasurer** (Currently Bob Barber)

Bob Barber was nominated by Gerald Wall, support by John Klein. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Treasurer be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Bob Barber as Treasurer, support by all, motion carried.

## **Secretary** (Currently Julie Hill)

Julie Hill was nominated by Gerald Wall, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Secretary be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Julie Hill as Secretary, support by all, motion carried.

## Membership Chair (Currently Michael Briggs)

Michael Briggs was nominated by Gerald Wall, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for Membership Chair be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Michael Briggs as Membership Chair, support by all, motion carried.

## **GAP #1 Representative** (Currently John Klein)

John Klein was nominated by Gerald Wall, support by Sandie Klein. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #1 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for John Klein as GAP #1 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

## **GAP #2 Representative** (Currently Kelly Kirkpatrick)

Kelly Kirkpatrick was nominated by Gerald Wall, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #2 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for Kelly Kirkpatrick as GAP #2 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

## **GAP #3 Representative** (Currently John Ellis)

John Ellis was nominated by Gerald Wall, support by Bob Barber. No other nominations from the floor. Gerald Wall moved that nominations for GAP #3 Rep. be closed with unanimous ballot cast for John Ellis as GAP #3 Representative, support by all, motion carried.

Motion by John Klein to close the above nominations at 7:09 p.m. Support by Kelly Kirkpatrick, all in favor, none opposed, motion carried.

Chief Hill has appointed Officer Shannon Fick to the ACT NOW Executive Board as the Police Department Representative and Sharon Zacny will remain the CERT Representative (non-voting position) and Chief Hill will remain on the board as a non-voting advisory member.

## CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD

Sgt. Patchin/Mary Link presented a plaque to JOHN ELLIS for the Citizen of the Year for his service to the community as an ACT NOW board member and for all of the

volunteer work he does for ACT NOW and the Gerrish CERT team. Congratulations JOHN on your well-deserved award!

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

- 8<sup>th</sup> Annual Golf Outing on August 12<sup>th</sup> at Redwood Golf Course beginning at 10:00 a.m. Officer Martin gave details of event.
- Annual Law Enforcement Torch Run on September 13<sup>th</sup> at 4:00 p.m. Officer Fick gave details of the event.
- Annual ACT NOW Cash Raffle Tickets for Sale, drawing November 20<sup>th</sup>, need not be present to win. Tickets \$10.00 each, First Prize \$1,000, 2<sup>nd</sup> Prize \$500, Third & Fourth Prizes \$250 (only 600 tickets being sold).

## **NEXT ANNUAL MEETING**

• July 16, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. at the Gerrish Township Hall outdoor pavilion.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Julie Hill

Julie Hill ACT NOW Secretary